New ASEWU members prepare for next year

By Katie Dunn, Staff Writer


Photos contributed by ASEWU

The newly elected 2014-2015 council members gave their oaths and officially started their term on June 5.

The council will not establish their new goals until the summer training session on Sept. 8. During that time, they want to figure out what students needs are and how they can help.

Their tasks until then are to ask students questions and getting to know them so they have an idea of what mainly concerns the EWU community.

“I just want to be able to say thank you to this year’s council,” said D.J. Jigre, returning student council president. “They have done tremendous work on behalf of themselves, as well as the students.”

D.J. was born in Ethiopia and moved to the United States in 1990. In 2006, his family moved to Kent, Washington, where he graduated from Kent-Meridian High School.

He was inspired to join the ASEWU during his freshman year at Eastern, and since being elected, his goal has been working towards changing the school for the better.

D.J. is a junior and wants to graduate at the end of 2015 with a major in communications and a minor in intercultural studies.

Another returning council member will be senior student Kyle Dodson, who oversees athletic affairs and university advancement. He is originally from Anchorage, Alaska, and is majoring in athletic training.

The new finance vice president is Keirstan Hanson, a junior. In 2001 she graduated from Meadowdale High School in Lynnwood, Washington, and is majoring in business and marketing education at Eastern.

Madison Azim is the new public relations specialist working in student services. She plans to focus on informing students about clubs and organizations at Eastern, and motivating them to get involved. It is her belief that if students are more engaged, they will realize the potential Eastern has to offer.

Serving as the new diversity outreach council member is Jorge Garcia. He graduated from the Wenatchee High School, in Wenatchee, in 2012 and is now studying sociology.

Other new members include executive vice President Brendan Hargrave, student activities member Abbey Madison; student health and safety services member Alexandra Rich; graduate affairs representative Kristina Li; legislative affairs member Mikaila Leyva and technology advancement council member Nick Sweeney.

“In terms of next year’s council, they have a lot of shoes to fill,” D.J. said. “Hopefully, the expectations of this year’s council are imbedded into next year’s, and that they continue to work hard and continuously represent the students of EWU.”